Tags

, , ,

Cookies are a go-to baked good for me. I have a special place for them in my heart thanks to the lovely lady to the right, also known as my Grandma.  She taught me how to swim, she taught me how to shave, and most importantly, she taught me how to bake a mean cookie.

Cookies are especially great for busy professional types because you can make the dough ahead of time and refrigerate it.  When you come home from a double-digit day holed up in your office like a mole who never sees the light of day, you can pull out the chilled dough, throw a dozen cookies on a sheet, put them in the oven for 7-10 minutes, and voila! Fresh cookies (and stress relief to boot).  The added advantage for butter-based cookies is that refrigerating the dough gives it time to firm up, making for a thicker, softer, chewier cookie, like these bad boys:

And while we’re on the topic of butter, here’s my deep, dark, dirty secret: I always, always, always bake with salted butter.  Blasphemy! you say.  Sacrilege!  I know, I know, but I guarantee that baked goods come out better when you use salted butter.  If you have dietary restrictions with salt, you can always decrease the amount of salt you add to the dry ingredients.  Personally, I like salt (and need it as a runner), so I use salted butter and the full amount of salt in the dry ingredients.  Mmmm, salt.

The delicious morsels pictured above are my go-to cookie recipe, Chocolate Chip Oatmeal.  The Boy likes chocolate chip cookies, and I like roughage, so it’s the best of both worlds.  Of all places, I got the recipe from the giganto-sized bag of chocolate chips available at Costco.  They have been a crowd favorite ever since I started making them three years ago.  Easy-peasy, especially if you remember today’s trick: store the dough in the fridge so you can make them whenever you have the time.  Enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 cups oats
  • 2 cups chocolate chips

Cream together the softened butter and the sugars (brown sugar first, granulated second) till the mixture is light and fluffy.  Add the eggs and vanilla.  Then add the flour, salt, and baking powder–you can separately mix them together then add them to the wet ingredients, or simply add them all at the same time to the wet ingredients if you’re lazy like me.  Blend thoroughly.  Next stir in the oats; after they are evenly distributed, stir in the chocolate chips.  (If you want lots of chocolate-y goodness, add a half cup extra chocolate chips.)  Chill the dough for at least an hour or two.  Form the dough into balls and place them evenly on an ungreased cookie sheet.  Bake in 350 degree oven for 10-12 minutes.  Cool on a cooling rack. Then stuff them three at a time into your gullet until you explode from oat-y, chocolate-y deliciousness.

