Tags

I know it’s horribly cliche, but I love cupcakes.  Specifically, I love “fancy” cupcakes.  You know the ones I’m talking about.  They come in exotic flavors like Mangolicious Guavariffic Extreme, they have pretty sparkles and doo-dads attached to them, and they taste like amazingness.  Unfortunately, Portland has an extreme dearth of fancy cupcakes.  Apparently, Portland’s idea of a cupcake is chocolate with chocolate frosting, and vanilla with vanilla frosting.  (How original.)

But not to fear!  Amazing, fancy cupcakes are just down the road…20+ miles away in Newberg, at SweetestThing Cupcakes. Tucked away in a charming Craftsman home on 99W, SweetestThing is my fancy cupcake savior. However, it’s hard to find the time to get out there.

Luckily for me, today was my mom’s birthday, and my mom works in Newberg.  Now, I need to preface this with the statement that I love my mom (which I do), but we haven’t always had the greatest relationship, and for the past few years it has been particularly strained.  However, I’m always trying to get back in her good graces, so I figured what better way to do so than surprise her at work with cupcakes from SweetestThing?

Thanks to the fantastic metro area rush hour traffic, there was no getting to SweetestThing in time to buy cupcakes before she got off of work.  So instead, I waited for her in the parking lot at her work, then told her I was going to take her to get cupcakes.  I think my mom enjoys my random moments. And I enjoy my fancy cupcakes.

But wait, you say.  Isn’t this blog about your baking, not someone else’s?  Well yes, it is.  But here’s the thing.  I can’t drive to Newberg for cupcakes all the time.  And I have ideas.  Ideas for my own fancy cupcakes.  I needs my fix, and I’m certainly not going to get it in Portland.

So expect to see posts from time to time on my efforts to make A Fancy Cupcake.  I have an idea for the cake base, I have an idea for the frosting, and I have an idea for a delicious topping.  But I want it to be the perfect fancy cupcake.  There’s no room for a runner-up here.  First I will perfect the cake, then the frosting, then the delicious topping.  And you, dear readers, will get to come along for the ride.  When I’m done, I’ll even share the recipes!  Well, maybe.

In the meantime, I leave you with some lovely cupcake pr0n from my SweetestThing haul.  The next time you’re trucking through Newberg on 99W, stop on by–you won’t regret it (though your hips might)!

