As mentioned in my last post, I’m on the hunt for ways to rid myself of the excess of pumpkin, apples, pears, and zucchini I’ve managed to accumulate.  The apples, pears, and zucchini remain in the conceptual stage, but the pumpkin–at least the majority of it–found its way into Pumpkin Whoopie Pies, a recipe I stumbled across on the Tillamook Cheese website.

“What’s a whoopie pie?” you ask.  Well, I wondered the same thing.  I’ve never made them before.  I assume it’s a southern thing, along the lines of moon pies and possum stew.  I really don’t know what their origin is, but they’re pretty good little cakey, frosting-stuffed delights.  Ok, really large cakey, frosting-stuffed delights.

I pretty much just followed the recipe over on the Tillamook website, except that I (as always) added more spice to the dough, and added almond extract (just a tiny bit!) to the frosting.  I think it may have been a bit overkill on the complexity front, but The Boy likes them.

I really don’t know if these are going to become a standard for me or not.  I knew they weren’t going to be my favorite when I saw how much baking powder went into them…I’m not that big a fan of cakey cookie-type desserts.  However, I am certain that plenty of folks will love this recipe, hence my sharing it with you.  And it’s certainly something different to do with all that pumpkin.

The recipe made twenty something large whoopie pies for me.  I think I had my fill after half of one.  But all I have to do is put them in the conference room at work and they are guaranteed to disappear in a nanosecond.  Which will only help my never-ending diet, because there is no easier way to make yourself look skinny than making everyone around you fatter.

Was that out loud?

