Declare this an emergency
Come on and spread a sense of urgency

Things have been tough lately. I can’t even fully explain why.  There’s certainly enough life stresses, or maybe it’s the four hours a day of anemic sunlight we get this time of year. (Seriously, sometimes there’s not enough vitamin D in the world to combat this place.)  Whatever it is, I’ve been more emo than the hipster kids on Hawthorne that I want to punch in the face.

To pull us through
And pull us through

One of the things that likely isn’t helping is having to be The Boy’s rock.  I’m no good at being The Rock.  And it makes me feel like crap that I’m so bad at it (and whiny about it), considering his position as The Rock for me for the three year hell of law school.  I should be able to just man up and handle it, but if there’s one thing I’m good at, it’s knowing how I should be feeling, but feeling an entirely different way.

This is the end
This is the end
Walk away

My default mode when trying to take care of others is to feed them until they explode.  The Boy really likes breakfast, but I’m generally no good at making breakfast.  However, I can bake, and I can make rockin’ buttermilk biscuits from the Mother’s Best cookbook.  They may not photograph well, but they are the moistest, richest, most delicious biscuits on the planet, and deceptively easy.  If you haven’t done so already, get this cookbook.  It’s worth it for the biscuit recipe alone.

It’s time we saw a miracle
Come on it’s time for something biblical

I don’t know why it popped into my head while making biscuits, but Muse’s “Emergency” took over my brain and I found myself humming it aloud while forming the dough.  It made me think about how much I used to love Muse before they decided to suck.  And it made me think of The Bestie and all the concerts we went to together…skipping first week Con Law I so I could go to the show in Portland with her…flying down to LA during finals third year to go to another show with her (nothing like studying Antitrust flash cards on a plane)…cherished memories with a special friend.

To pull us through
And pull us through

Thinking about her while baking made me think of the Bake-a-Thons we used to have.  We share a love of baking, and we share a love of cooking from scratch.  And she’s great at both of those things, too.  Between our respective schedules and the upcoming holidays, I don’t see another baking party happening any time soon, but I certainly hope we can change that in the new year.

This is the end
This is the end
Walk away

In the meantime, I’ll keep baking on my own, taking my vitamin D, and going for long runs (Lief Ericson in fall?  Amazing!).  The end of the ho-hums is on my horizon, because I am going to make it so.

And in the mean time, there’s always biscuits and gravy…

