Tags

, ,

I can’t believe how neglectful I’ve been of this blog.  It’s not that I haven’t been baking; I have (though not as much), I just can’t seem to get myself to you know, take pictures and write stuff.  

Gluten-free snickerdoodles

You know, because it’s sooooooo hard to photograph something this delicious. Actually, it is. I keep eating what I bake before I can photograph it.

Well, a bad situation is bound to get worse because (drumroll please)…I’M GETTING MARRIED!  Yup, Ms. Always-a-Bridesmaid-and-Never-a-Bride (seriously, I think I was a bridesmaid 3,764 times) is finally getting hitched.  The Boy popped the question in Colorado, my fav-o-rite place on earth (weird, I know), and after I got done hyperventilating and jumping fifty feet backward from him, I said yes.  And since a black rabbit squirrel crossed our path right before he did it, our marriage will be a long and fruitful one.  

Image

Of course, with a wedding on the horizon, I decided the day he proposed that it was time to get serious about wiring my jaw shut and losing that 15 to 20 pounds that’s snuck up on me over the last few years.  I’ve engaged in nearly super-human efforts to lose the weight, including dramatically cutting back my calories, carbs, and sugars, and have gotten…nowhere so far.  Negative nowhere.  I am convinced I could subsist entirely on black coffee and ennui and I’d gain weight.  

So, after one last hurrah this weekend (Crave, I’m looking at you), starting Monday I’m going to put myself into ketosis.  For those of you not familiar with ketosis, it basically means I’m going to get my daily carb intake simply by breathing, so I won’t be able to eat any of my delicious baked goods for a while.  I’m going to give it a shot for a few weeks and if I’m still getting nowhere, I’ll know it’s time to give up on diet and exercise and simply cut off a limb.  I’m pretty sure The Boy will still love me with a peg leg.  

But never fear!  My extreme laziness in updating this here blog means I have a backlog of tried and tested recipes to share–some gluten-free, some not, and even some that are paleo. 

One such backlogged recipe is the de-glutenified snickerdoodles pictured above.  Our B&B in Colorado had homemade cookies set out every night, which of course The Boy, who must eat gluten-free, couldn’t eat.  After I gleefully shoved three of them in my face the first night while he looked on wistfully, I decided it was time to stop torturing him by eating gluten in front of him (and maybe time to stop eating three cookies at once) and jumped on the 100% gluten-free bandwagon myself.  The result was neither of us got to enjoy the snickerdoodles set out the second night, spurring me into finding a way to make a good, gluten-free snickerdoodle when we got home.  

My first attempt was just…not good.  I got a cookbook filled with recipes that are not only gluten-free, they are also dairy-free, egg-free, and, apparently, joy free.  I don’t want to besmirch the cookbook’s good name, because there are other, good recipes in there, but the flax meal-and-applesauce-based snickerdoodles (yuck) are not one of those good recipes.  

So I decided to go back to my buttery basics and try de-glutening the snickerdoodle recipe my beloved grandma gave me.  Much to my delight, the copy of the recipe that I have was even written by her!  

Grandma's Snickerdoodles

Because of the ease of using flour blends (a must for the busy baker), I chose to go with a really good flour blend I’ve been using, Gluten Free Mama’s Almond Flour Blend, punched up with some brown rice flour and sorghum flour for protein.  I can make no guarantees on how these will come out with a different flour blend, so I’d highly recommend sticking with the flours I used (including the specific blend).  Snickerdoodles appear to be a bit finnicky, but Gramma’s revised recipe worked like a charm.  

Gluten-Free Snickerdoodles 

For the dough: 

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 1/2 cups organic evaporated cane juice (or sugar)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups Gluten Free Mama’s Almond Blend Flour
  • 1/2 cup brown rice flour
  • 1/4 cup sorghum flour 
  • 1 tsp xantham gum
  • 2 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt 

For the coating:

  • 1/4 cup organic evaporated cane juice (or sugar)
  • 1 tbsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg 

In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and cane juice together until light and fluffy.  Add the eggs, beating well until blended.  In another, medium mixing bowl, whisk the dry ingredients into a homogenous mixture.  Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and mix well.  Refrigerate dough for at least an hour or until firm. 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix together coating ingredients in a small bowl.  Roll dough into walnut-sized balls and then roll each ball in the coating.  Place dough balls on parchment-paper lined cookie sheet an inch apart.  Flatten balls slightly with your fingertips.  Bake for 10-12 minutes or until tops begin to crack.  

Image

Finally…a cookie both The Boy and I can shove gleefully in our faces! 

